SNA has begun accepting nominations for the newly established 2017 Awards for Distinction. All nominations must be sent with the proper nomination form including the nominee’s contact information. Awardees will be announced at the next annual conference, CONADEV 2017.

Awards for Distinction are given to professionals in a number of art fields who have been nominated by others to receive recognition for their work. These include:

  • Art Journal Award
  • Distinguished Teaching of Art Award
  • Distinguished Teaching of Art History Award
  • Artist Award for Distinguished Body of Work
  • Distinguished Artist Award for Lifetime Achievement
  • Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing on Art
  • Distinguished Feminist Award

Nominations for Awards for Distinction require letters of support from the nominator that include the nominator’s identity, relationship to the nominee, how the nominee’s work has affected them, and why the nominee should be recognized for this particular award.

All nominations are due June 16, 2017. To give the jury full opportunity to evaluate each submission fairly, submit materials well before the deadline. Nominations for Awards for Distinction also require a short CV (approximately two-pages) of the nominee. All materials should be sent to Archibong Bassey, Honourable General Secretary, Society of Nigerian Artists via email at

Click on the form to download, fill the information and send scanned completed form to